New Florida Boating Regulations
Unless you are receiving food stamps or other government assistance, Friday (July 31) was the last day you can fish from shore in Florida without a new $7.50 shoreline license. There are also new safety regulations taking effect.
As many as 338,000 people are expected to need a shore line license. But because the requirement is so new, anglers may get a break for a couple of days, according to the Capitol News Service.
Boaters also now face a host of new regulations. The legislation increases the fee to register a boat from another state by $6.
Tearing up seagrass beds will cost you $50 for the first time. A fourth offense will clip you $1,000.
Current law says anyone under 21 must take a boating safety class. But evidence shows the majority of boating accidents are caused by people over 21 who started boating later in life.
Kids will now have to wear life jackets until they are 10 instead of just 6.
Finally, the state is also lowering the blood alcohol level to make it easier to throw the book at really drunk boaters.
- Gainesville City Commissioners Consider New Roam Towing Regulations
- New Regulations Cause Plasma Shortage
- New Drivers License Regulations Cause Frustration
- New Safety Regulations For Tattoo Parlors
- Florida Men's and Women's Diving Coach Donnie Craine Dies in Boating Accident
- National Boat Safety Week Prompts Increased Patrol on Florida Waterways
- Fla. Regulator Explains Why Rates Aren't Dropping
- Counties Push for Stricter Python Regulation
- With New Year Comes New Minimum Wage for Florida Workers
- FWC Warning Boaters Not To Boat Under the Influence